Leonidas Overlook

Named for Leonidas Merritt, one of seven brothers who discovered the Mesabi Iron Range, the Leonidas Mine began production in 1908. The overlook was created by mining overburden (surface materials that covered the ore body).

From here, visitors will see former mine sites, as well as the active mine, UTac, in Eveleth. This is the largest man-made point on the Iron Trail. You will be able to view over 15 miles of breathtaking scenery from here. The water towers of several communities are also visible from here, as well as the Laurentian Divide, visible on the horizon as a low range of hills. (Water on the north side of the Laurentian Divide flows to the Hudson Bay, while that on the south finds its way to Lake Superior or the Gulf of Mexico.)
Directions: From Highway 53 Eveleth, take the downtown business district exit onto Park Avenue which turns into Grant Avenue. Follow 1.4 miles to stop sign. Take a right onto Fayal Road/Highway 101. Travel 1 mile and Leonidas Overlook is located on the left-hand side.
Admission: Admission is free. Closed in winter.

To request a Free Heritage & Attraction Brochure visit our Free Vacation Guide section.
Leonidas Overlook
Hwy 101
Eveleth, MN 55734