Forest History Center

Log-on to experience living history

Minnesota’s only authentic 1900′s logging camp with costumed performers. Watch as the camp blacksmith diligently pounds iron, the cook prepares meals, the clerk keeps the books or the janitor keeps the fires burning. Then, board the 1901 Log Drive Wanigan, a floating cook shack used when the men and logs headed downstream. Sit on the porch of a 1934 Forest Service Patrolman’s cabin, stroll through 2.5 miles of nature trails along the Mississippi River, or climb the 100-foot fire observation tower. An interpretive museum houses pictorial displays and exhibits relating to forestry and logging.

 
Directions: Located on County Road 76 in Grand Rapids near US Highways 169 and 2. Follow Highway 169 to Golf Course Road. Take a right on Golf Course Road and follow about a mile (follow brown signs). Take a right on County Road 76 and follow about a quarter of a mile. Located on the right-hand side of road.
 
Admission: Open June 1 through October 15, Mondays through Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sundays noon to 5 p.m. Off-season, the Interpretive Building is open weekdays. Call ahead for exact hours.  218-327-4482.  Closed on winter holidays. Admission is $6 for adults, $5 for seniors, $4 for children 6-12, and free admission to children under 6 and Minnesota Historical Society members.
 
Different fees may apply for different events. Tour guide on-site. Available by appointment. Rates and times are subject to change.  218-327-4482.
 
To learn more, visit the Minnesota Historical Society website.
 
Click here to receive a free Forest History Center Brochure.
 
To request a Free Heritage & Attraction Brochure visit our Free Vacation Guide section.
 
Forest History Center
2609 County Road 76
Grand Rapids, MN 55730
218-327-4482
http://www.mnhs.org/places/sites/fhc/